top of page

RKM Medical Education Consulting

MCAT Information

New (2015) Updated Information on the MCAT Examination

The MCAT examination consists of four sections. They are as follows:


  • Chemical and Physical Foundations of Biological Systems

  • Critical Analysis and Reasoning Skills (CARS)

  • Biological and Biochemical Foundations of Living Systems

  • Psychological, Social, and Biological Foundations of Behavior


Exam Scoring

  • You will receive a separate score for each of the four sections of the MCAT exam, as well as a total score.

  • Your raw score on each of the four multiple-choice sections is based on the number of questions you answer correctly in each section.  There is no penalty for guessing.

  • The raw score for each section is then converted to a scaled score ranging from 118 (the lowest) to 132 (the highest).

  • Your total scaled score is the sum of the four individual section scores and will range from 472 to 528.

  • Every test form of the MCAT exam measures the same basic concepts and skills. However, each form is different in the specific questions it uses.  While care is taken to make sure that each form is about equivalent in difficulty, one form may be slightly more or less difficult than another.  The conversion of raw scores to scaled scores, through a process called equating, compensates for small variations in difficulty between sets of questions and ensures that scores have the same meaning, no matter when you test or who tests at the same time you did.

  • A percentile rank is reported along with each section and total score.  The percentile ranks of scores are the percentages of test-takers who received the same score as or lower scores than you did.  Updates to the percentile ranks will be made on May 1 each year.  The percentile ranks will be updated with all examinees' scores from the most recent three years.

bottom of page